Latest Shows

AISFP 273 – Lou Anders and a Book Giveaway

Frostborn with Blurb

Lou Anders joins us to discuss his new middle grade fantasy novel, THRONES AND BONES: FROSTBORN. More than a book, we discuss the many games being released along with the novel, including the Thrones and Bones board game, a developing RPG, and online games at the novels official website.

AISFP 272 – Fake Reviews

Frostborn with Blurb

With Shaun, Moses, and Brent back behind the microphones, we felt it appropriate to get together for a little topic discussion, as we used to do quite often.

Lou Anders’s first book is a humorous viking-inspired fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander. This novel is receiving rave reviews.

Still not convinced? Read Tim Ward’s review of THRONES AND BONES, and then pick up a copy for yourself. And when you do, tell Lou Anders that AISFP sent you!

AISFP Podcast 271 – Special Announcement

AISFP_300x300

Hey folks… well I’m not going to ruin the surprise in the shownotes, so you’ll have to have a listen.

AISFP Podcast 270 – M.R. Carey, THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

Girl

Timothy C. Ward interviewed M.R. Carey about his breakout novel, The Girl with all the Gifts. In Tim’s review a few weeks ago, he called it one of the best reads of the year.

AISFP Podcast 269 – Nick Cole, SODA POP SOLDIER

Soda Pop Soldier

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 46:43 — 64.7MB) Soda Pop Soldier is the new novel from Nick Cole, author of the bestselling Wasteland Saga. Call of Duty meets Diablo, Soda Pop Soldier is the must-read thriller for gamers and anyone interested in how that profession could affect a bleak, future world. Guest […]

Book Reviews

Book Review: WORLD OF FIRE by James Lovegrove

wofbig

  The story you'll find in James Lovegrove's WORLD OF FIRE is a familiar one. A special agent has been recruited to find out what's gone wrong on a planet with its own rules, political system, and no small amount of problems from its magma-rock mining infrastructure. Oh yeah, and there's a race of AIs called the Polis+, to shake things up. Our hero, Dev Harmer, is reluctant. He cracks wise. He is war-torn and gruff, but highly competent. He's every action hero you might have seen, with a good amount of baggage and devotion to his mission. This, in itself, is not a bad thing. In fact, without going into too many details, WORLD OF FIRE's plot turns and general ideas are serviceable. There is a consistent theme, very strong world-building, and I knew I was reading a practiced author. That said, the novel had one drawback that … [Read More...]

Book Review: Dead Man’s Hand: An Anthology of The Weird West, ed. John Joseph Adams

A Weird West Anthology from John Joseph Adams

I enjoy a good Western now and then. Mainly cinematic ones, though I have read a number of novels over the years. The weird western is a relatively new phenomenon, emerging probably from some of the writings of Joe R. Landsdale and others, though he writes a more contemporary version, not to mention the recent surge of steampunk westerns. Many of the 23 stories in Dead Man's Hand (Titan Books), edited by the ever-reliable John Joseph Adams, feature vampires, elves, dragons, shape-shifters, magicians, fae, even dinosaurs. Others involve alien invasions or clockwork automata. Of the latter category you'll find plenty of fun stories. Though some of the writers push the boundaries, most stick closely within the paramaters of steampunk that won't offend fans who want more of the same. While here and there I began to grow weary of … [Read More...]

Book Review: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami

Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Haruki Murakami is not known as a genre writer, but his dabbling in the fantastika shares many of the common tropes found in modern fantasy. His novels feature gateways to other worlds, ghosts, monsters, and ordinary characters that embark on their own form of the hero’s quests. When his previous novel, 1Q84, was released in the US, many genre authors and reviewers commented that they were reading Murakami for the first time. Like Cormac McCarthy's, The Road, 1Q84 captured the interest of the science fiction community, spilling over from the literary mainstream. If one is looking to get acquainted with Murakami, 1Q84 is not the place to start. Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki is much more accessible, but be forewarned that the genre elements are almost non-existent. The story tells of a thirty-seven-year-old man by the name of Tsukuru … [Read More...]

Book Review: FOOL’S ASSASSIN by Robin Hobb

US-cover-Fools-Assassin

The stories of FitzChivalry Farseer were well documented by Robin Hobb in the Farseer Trilogy and the Tawny Man Trilogy. His actions even had consequences only seen in the Liveship Traders Trilogy and the Rainwild Chronicles. And for some time everyone thought Fitz, aka Tom Badgerlock, was going to live the happily ever after he deserved after the trials and tribulations he faced in the previous books. That happiness wasn’t to last as Robin Hobb has brought FitzChivalry back into service in her latest book Fool’s Assassin. Set some twenty or so years after the events of the Tawny Man Trilogy, Fool’s Assassin follows Fitz over the course of eleven or twelve years in his life as Tom Badgerlock, estate holder for King Dutiful Farseer of the Six Duchies. This time, rather than being called out to be an assassin or to bring dragons back to … [Read More...]

Book Review: SODA POP SOLDIER by Nick Cole

Soda Pop Soldier

Soda Pop Soldier by Nick Cole Very entertaining adventure through the life of a future gamer who faces extreme odds of survival in game and out. Our gamer, PerfectQuestion, is the leader of a ColaCorp professional first person shooter team who is losing game after game to a big time team in WonderSoft. The cost per loss are major advertising slots for WonderSoft and if his team keeps losing he'll be out of a job. The story starts out with some pretty cool Call of Duty type action, mixed in with Question's rocky relationship with his girlfriend and a need to make money for rent. We get pieces of the world that really make the setting one I wanted to explore, and lucky for the reader, you will. I wonder how much more in future books as there are plenty of stones unturned. In a desperate attempt to make the last half of rent, Question … [Read More...]

News and More

SF Book Releases This Week: August 26, 2014

AISFPBook

Need a good book to read? Robert Junker once again compiles a select list of books being published this week, including new books by Brent Weeks, Simon Green, John Scalzi, Kevin J. Anderson and James Maxwell, to name a few. It’s going to be a good week of reading!

SF Book Releases This Week: August 19, 2014

AISFPBook

This week’s newly published titles include Scorched Earth; The Godless: Children; and a Peter F. Hamilton bundle!

SF Book Releases This Week: August 5, 2014

AISFPBook

Thanks for stopping by another SF Book Releases This Week. If you are an indie or small press author and would like your book included in this list, email us at adventuresinscifipublishing [at] gmail [dot] com. If you love free books, reviews and podcasts, sign up to our newsletter and be entered in our weekly […]

Q and A with Scott Kenemore, author of Zombie, Indiana (+Giveaway)

18342384

Skyhorse is offering 3 copies of Zombie, Indiana by Scott Kenemore to AISFP Newsletter subscribers. Join our list by one week from today and you’ll be entered. (US only for this giveaway) *Zombie, Indiana is now available on Kindle Unlimited. Click book cover for link. What kind of zombie apocalypse are we dealing with in […]

SF Book Releases This Week: July 15, 2014

AISFPBook

Thanks for stopping by another SF Book Releases This Week. If you are an indie or small press author and would like your book included in this list, email us at adventuresinscifipublishing [at] gmail [dot] com. If you love free books, reviews and podcasts, sign up to our newsletter and be entered in our weekly […]

AISFP Blog

Q and A with Scott Kenemore, author of Zombie, Indiana (+Giveaway)

18342384

Skyhorse is offering 3 copies of Zombie, Indiana by Scott Kenemore to AISFP Newsletter subscribers. Join our list by one week from today and you’ll be entered. (US only for this giveaway) *Zombie, Indiana is now available on Kindle Unlimited. Click book cover for link. What kind of zombie apocalypse are we dealing with in […]

5 Lessons to Write a Series with Tim Marquitz

Exit Wounds

Tim Marquitz, Editor and Chief of Ragnarok Publications, recently released Exit Wounds: Demon Squad #7. Not many people have written a series that long (and it’s not his only one – Dead West is sweet zombie action). It’s an honor to have him come on and share with us what he’s learned. He also has […]

A Ring Tone for the End of the World – Stephen King’s Machines of Mayhem

Cell_by_Stephen_King

Should we fear the rise of robots? The dawn of human/machine fusion is clearly on its way; remarkable advances in technology have led to the creation of self-driving cars, bionic organs, Siri and similar voice-controlled virtual assistants, just to name a few examples.  Science fiction is rife with stories exploring the increasingly complicated relationship between […]

Interview with Craig Cormick about THE SHADOW MASTER

TheShadowMaster

The Shadow Master by Craig Cormick (Angry Robot Books) In a land riven with plague, inside the infamous Walled City, two families vie for control: the Medicis with their genius inventor Leonardo; the Lorraines with Galileo, the most brilliant alchemist of his generation. And when two star-crossed lovers, one from either house, threaten the status […]

The Story Behind SALT: A Post-Apocalyptic Thriller by Colin F. Barnes

Salt_Ebook_Lowres

Colin F. Barnes is one of the most loveable, hard-working freelance authors I know. We had him on the podcast to discuss his Technothriller series, The Techxorcist, and now I’ve asked him to write a guest post on what makes his novel, SALT: A POST-APOCALYPTIC THRILLER, unique in a crowded genre of Post-Apocalyptic fiction. Here’s […]