Latest Shows

AISFP 275 – Patrick Swenson

The Ultra Thin Man cover

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 45:43 — 31.8MB) Patrick Swenson joins us to discuss his first novel, The Ultra Thin Man, published by Tor Books. Patrick is the publisher of Fairwood Press and previously edited Talebones Magazine for 14 years. This episode is brought to you by the new middle grade novel […]

AISFP 274 – S. Ron Mars, EAT FISH AND DIE

Eat Fish and Die

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 46:59 — 43.5MB) Today’s interview is a combination of sorts. First, S. Ron Mars (a.k.a. Saul Garnell) talks about his comedic scifi short story, “Eat Fish and Die,” which we have a five minute sample of (12 minute to 17 minute mark). After that, we have a […]

AISFP 273 – Lou Anders and a Book Giveaway

Frostborn with Blurb

Lou Anders joins us to discuss his new middle grade fantasy novel, THRONES AND BONES: FROSTBORN. More than a book, we discuss the many games being released along with the novel, including the Thrones and Bones board game, a developing RPG, and online games at the novels official website.

AISFP 272 – Fake Reviews

Frostborn with Blurb

With Shaun, Moses, and Brent back behind the microphones, we felt it appropriate to get together for a little topic discussion, as we used to do quite often.

Lou Anders’s first book is a humorous viking-inspired fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander. This novel is receiving rave reviews.

Still not convinced? Read Tim Ward’s review of THRONES AND BONES, and then pick up a copy for yourself. And when you do, tell Lou Anders that AISFP sent you!

AISFP Podcast 271 – Special Announcement

AISFP_300x300

Hey folks… well I’m not going to ruin the surprise in the shownotes, so you’ll have to have a listen.

Reviews

Book Review: Shield and Crocus by Michael R Underwood

Underwood_SHIELD_CROCUS_Front_Cvr-1

I’m not going to lie. This was an interesting one. A good interesting but on a scale from 1 to 10, 1 being ‘Generic Fantasy Land, next exit’, 10 being ‘Whoa, wait a minute, where the hell am I…and… did my exit just get eaten by a cavernous black pit?’. Well, this scores a 10. Maybe an 11. I’ll let you be the judge. Shield and Crocus reads as if Underwood took an X-men-like mutant superheroes team and wanted to see what would happen if you threw them into a China Mieville-esque styled weird fantasy world. Luckily this was pretty well Underwood’s intention, and I’m happy to say he succeeded with flying colors. Shield and Crocus takes place in a city that’s built among the remains of a fallen giant, where a small and motley group of superheroes looks to reclaim their home from five criminal tyrants who are doing a remarkable job … [Read More...]

Book Review: Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff Vandermeer

acceptance

Jeff Vandermeer's work is often connected with the New Weird. This genre is difficult to define, but it typically refers to works that rely on a plot and setting that blend a disproportional amount of the unfamiliar with the familiar. Even though the Southern Reach Trilogy is grounded in the real world (taking place on the gulf coast near Florida?) and its characters are human, the fantastic elements of the story evoke many of the same emotions that are characteristic of weird fiction. For much of the narrative, the characters are on a quest of discovery while combating feelings of isolationism and dread. In the first novel, Annihilation, Vandermeer refrains from using character names, referring to individuals by their professions. The main character, who is simply called the Biologist, is sent into the mysterious and alienating Area X … [Read More...]

Book Review: Resistance by Samit Basu

Resistance cover

It's 2020, eleven years after the passengers of flight BA142 from London to Delhi developed extraordinary abilities corresponding to their innermost desires. The result is a world overrun with supers. Some use their powers for good, others for evil, and some just want to pulverize iconic monuments and star in their own reality show. See giant kaiju monsters threaten Tokyo! Thrill to mecha warriors a-la-Transformers engage in pitch battles with said monsters, especially for the edification of sensation-hungry TV viewers! Gasp at super heroes running riot across the globe! Experience the terror of watching evil villains drain humanity’s last hope of their super powers! Resistance by Samit Basu (Titan) throws all this and a whole lot more, including the kitchen sink, into the mix. Wildly over-the-top action, wickedly funny dialogue, … [Read More...]

Book Review: 100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith

100 Sideways Miles

Andrew Smith is one of my favorite authors. I don't otherwise pursue fiction written in the POV of teenage boys, but if they are as entertaining and humorous as his I surely will. If you are offended by the kind of language and thoughts teenage boys have about sex and girls, this probably won't be for you. If you can get past that, his presentation on the issues and desires of teenagers is superb and moving. I really enjoyed the treatment of Finn's epilepsy and seeing life through his eyes, as well as the mind-bender of if he is actually stuck in his father's science fiction book. I first heard about Andrew Smith from his other 2014 release, Grasshopper Jungle, which is a strong candidate to be my top read of the year. His combination of emotional vulnerability, humor and adventure in his cast of characters is outstanding. After … [Read More...]

Book Review: WORLD OF FIRE by James Lovegrove

wofbig

  The story you'll find in James Lovegrove's WORLD OF FIRE is a familiar one. A special agent has been recruited to find out what's gone wrong on a planet with its own rules, political system, and no small amount of problems from its magma-rock mining infrastructure. Oh yeah, and there's a race of AIs called the Polis+, to shake things up. Our hero, Dev Harmer, is reluctant. He cracks wise. He is war-torn and gruff, but highly competent. He's every action hero you might have seen, with a good amount of baggage and devotion to his mission. This, in itself, is not a bad thing. In fact, without going into too many details, WORLD OF FIRE's plot turns and general ideas are serviceable. There is a consistent theme, very strong world-building, and I knew I was reading a practiced author. That said, the novel had one drawback that … [Read More...]

News and More

SF Book Releases This Week: September 16, 2014

AISFPBook

Thanks for stopping by another SF Book Releases This Week. If you are an indie or small press author and would like your book included in this list, email us at adventuresinscifipublishing [at] gmail [dot] com. Stars & Empire: 10 Galactic Tales Humanity wasn’t built for peace. Not on Earth. Not in space. Not on […]

SF Book Releases This Week: September 2, 2014

AISFPBook

This weeks’ new release columns features the first Star Wars collaboration with the Lucasfilm Story Group. Star Wars: A New Dawn is set during the legendary “Dark Times” between Episodes III and IV and tells the story of how two of the lead characters from the animated series Star Wars Rebels first came to cross paths. . Also, new books from Tad Williams, Jeff Vandermeer, Julie E. Czerneda and more!

Top 5 Celebrity Guest Appearances on The Simpsons

simpsons x files images

The Simpsons will soon be entering into its 26th season. Throughout the course of its run, the show has been the recipient of an unprecedented 31 Primetime Emmys, a Peabody, and countless other awards. There are many things that distinguish the series as one of the the best shows of all time: the scripts, the voice actors, and the creative use of celebrity guest stars. And while there have been many appearances over the course of the 500+ episode run, here are the top five all-time celebrity guest appearances on The Simpsons.

SF Book Releases This Week: August 26, 2014

AISFPBook

Need a good book to read? Robert Junker once again compiles a select list of books being published this week, including new books by Brent Weeks, Simon Green, John Scalzi, Kevin J. Anderson and James Maxwell, to name a few. It’s going to be a good week of reading!

SF Book Releases This Week: August 19, 2014

AISFPBook

This week’s newly published titles include Scorched Earth; The Godless: Children; and a Peter F. Hamilton bundle!

AISFP Blog

Q and A with Scott Kenemore, author of Zombie, Indiana (+Giveaway)

18342384

Skyhorse is offering 3 copies of Zombie, Indiana by Scott Kenemore to AISFP Newsletter subscribers. Join our list by one week from today and you’ll be entered. (US only for this giveaway) *Zombie, Indiana is now available on Kindle Unlimited. Click book cover for link. What kind of zombie apocalypse are we dealing with in […]

5 Lessons to Write a Series with Tim Marquitz

Exit Wounds

Tim Marquitz, Editor and Chief of Ragnarok Publications, recently released Exit Wounds: Demon Squad #7. Not many people have written a series that long (and it’s not his only one – Dead West is sweet zombie action). It’s an honor to have him come on and share with us what he’s learned. He also has […]

A Ring Tone for the End of the World – Stephen King’s Machines of Mayhem

Cell_by_Stephen_King

Should we fear the rise of robots? The dawn of human/machine fusion is clearly on its way; remarkable advances in technology have led to the creation of self-driving cars, bionic organs, Siri and similar voice-controlled virtual assistants, just to name a few examples.  Science fiction is rife with stories exploring the increasingly complicated relationship between […]

Interview with Craig Cormick about THE SHADOW MASTER

TheShadowMaster

The Shadow Master by Craig Cormick (Angry Robot Books) In a land riven with plague, inside the infamous Walled City, two families vie for control: the Medicis with their genius inventor Leonardo; the Lorraines with Galileo, the most brilliant alchemist of his generation. And when two star-crossed lovers, one from either house, threaten the status […]

The Story Behind SALT: A Post-Apocalyptic Thriller by Colin F. Barnes

Salt_Ebook_Lowres

Colin F. Barnes is one of the most loveable, hard-working freelance authors I know. We had him on the podcast to discuss his Technothriller series, The Techxorcist, and now I’ve asked him to write a guest post on what makes his novel, SALT: A POST-APOCALYPTIC THRILLER, unique in a crowded genre of Post-Apocalyptic fiction. Here’s […]