AISFP 281 – Jeanne Cavelos of the Odyssey Writing Workshop

Odyssey Workshop

Jean Cavelos, founder of the Odyssey Writers Workshop, joins us to to talk writing, workshops, making it as an author, what writers don’t know, what makes Odyssey different from Clarion, where publishing is going, concerns about piracy and an authors’s ability to make an income, HarperCollins competing with Amazon, and so much more.

AISFP 280 – Military Fantasy with Jennifer Brozek and Bryan Thomas Schmidt

shattered-shields

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 55:50 — 38.8MB) This episode is brought to you by The Grand Hotel, by Scott Kenemore. Welcome to the hotel where nobody checks out. When a desk clerk welcomes a group of tourists into his mysterious and crumbling hotel, the last thing he expects is that a […]

AISFP 279 – Publishing Round Table with Kevin J. Anderson, David Farland, and Doug Dandridge

Million Dollar Productivity

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 57:15 — 39.7MB) This episode is brought to you by Mission: Flight to Mars, by V.A. Jeffrey. Bob Astor is a Quality Assurance agent working at Vartan Inc. Lately his days have been stressful, to say the least. Butting heads with upper management has put his career […]

AISFP 278 – Book Reviewer Sarah Chorn

World War Kaiju

Sarah Chorn of Bookworm Blues joins us to discuss book reviewing and some of her favorite books from 2014.

AISFP 277 – James Frey and a Book Giveaway

Endgame: The Calling

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 52:04 — 36.2MB) James Frey, author of A Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard, joins us to discuss his first science fiction novel that he co-wrote with Nils Johnson-Shelton, author of the Otherworld Chronicles. This episode is brought to you by the new middle grade novel […]

AISFP 276 – Kameron Hurley

The Mirror Empire

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 59:09 — 41.0MB) Two-time award winning author Kameron Hurley joins Moses to discuss her work, her journey, the support of the writing community, finding the market for her work, making her own rules, and much, much more! This episode is brought to you by the new middle […]

AISFP 275 – Patrick Swenson

The Ultra Thin Man cover

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 45:43 — 31.8MB) Patrick Swenson joins us to discuss his first novel, The Ultra Thin Man, published by Tor Books. Patrick is the publisher of Fairwood Press and previously edited Talebones Magazine for 14 years. This episode is brought to you by the new middle grade novel […]

AISFP 274 – S. Ron Mars, EAT FISH AND DIE

Eat Fish and Die

Podcast: Play in new window | Download (Duration: 46:59 — 43.5MB) Today’s interview is a combination of sorts. First, S. Ron Mars (a.k.a. Saul Garnell) talks about his comedic scifi short story, “Eat Fish and Die,” which we have a five minute sample of (12 minute to 17 minute mark). After that, we have a […]

AISFP 273 – Lou Anders and a Book Giveaway

Frostborn with Blurb

Lou Anders joins us to discuss his new middle grade fantasy novel, THRONES AND BONES: FROSTBORN. More than a book, we discuss the many games being released along with the novel, including the Thrones and Bones board game, a developing RPG, and online games at the novels official website.

AISFP 272 – Fake Reviews

Frostborn with Blurb

With Shaun, Moses, and Brent back behind the microphones, we felt it appropriate to get together for a little topic discussion, as we used to do quite often.

Lou Anders’s first book is a humorous viking-inspired fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander. This novel is receiving rave reviews.

Still not convinced? Read Tim Ward’s review of THRONES AND BONES, and then pick up a copy for yourself. And when you do, tell Lou Anders that AISFP sent you!