AISFP 275 – Patrick Swenson

The Ultra Thin Man cover

Patrick Swenson joins us to discuss his first novel, The Ultra Thin Man, published by Tor Books. Patrick is the publisher of Fairwood Press and previously edited Talebones Magazine for 14 years.

This episode is brought to you by the new middle grade novel THRONES AND BONES: FROSTBORN, by Lou Anders. Smelly trolls, the walking dead, and a fire-breathing dragon are no match for Karn and Thianna, two heroes with pluck and smarts. Lou Anders’s first book is a humorous viking-inspired fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander.

This novel is receiving rave reviews. Still not convinced? Read Tim Ward’s review of Thrones and Bones: Frostborn and then pick up a copy for yourself. And when you do, tell Lou Anders that AISFP sent you!

About The Ultra Thin Man: In the twenty-second century, a future in which mortaline wire controls the weather on the settled planets and entire refugee camps drowse in drug-induced slumber, no one—alive or dead, human or alien—is quite what they seem. When terrorists manage to crash Coral, the moon, into its home planet of Ribon, forcing evacuation, it’s up to Dave Crowell and Alan Brindos, contract detectives for the Network Intelligence Organization, to solve a case of interplanetary consequences. Crowell’ and Brindos’s investigation plunges them neck-deep into a conspiracy much more dangerous than anything they could have imagined.

Topics Discussed:

  • Why Noir and Science Fiction work so well together;
  • Alternating from First Person POV to Third Person POV;
  • Balancing a heavy plot with character depth;
  • Racism and self-identity;
  • Star Trek: The Next Generation and Babylon 5;
  • How technology changes us;
  • How twenty years of editing made Patrick a better writer;

Go HERE to read a sample of The Ultra Thin Man.

Connect with Adventures in SciFi Publishing

Subscribe to podcast on: iTunes | Stitcher Radio (Android users) | Podcast RSS | Website RSS

Speak Your Mind

*

Comments Protected by WP-SpamShield for WordPress