AISFP 277 – James Frey and a Book Giveaway

Endgame: The Calling
James Frey, author of A Million Little Pieces and My Friend Leonard, joins us to discuss his first science fiction novel that he co-wrote with Nils Johnson-Shelton, author of the Otherworld Chronicles.

This episode is brought to you by the new middle grade novel THRONES AND BONES: FROSTBORN, by Lou Anders. Smelly trolls, the walking dead, and a fire-breathing dragon are no match for Karn and Thianna, two heroes with pluck and smarts. Lou Anders’s first book is a humorous viking-inspired fantasy adventure that will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, Brandon Mull, and Lloyd Alexander.

This novel is receiving rave reviews. Still not convinced? Read Tim Ward’s review of THRONES AND BONES, and then pick up a copy for yourself. And when you do, tell Lou Anders that AISFP sent you!

Topics discussed with James:

  • How readers can win $500,000 as part of Endgame. Let’s get our treasure hunt on!
  • The book James read as a child when inspired him to do a project like this one day;
  • The Southern Reach trilogy, by James Vandermeer;
  • The mythology behind Endgame;
  • That these books are not intended for a YA audience;
  • How he met and works with Nils Johnson-Shelton;
  • Numerology, Bible-codes, and creation accounts from various cultures;
  • Full Fathom Five, which is open for submissions.

 

World War KaijuBook Giveaway!

We have two copies of World War Kaiju to give to listeners in the United States (due to shipping restrictions). To enter, SHARE this post on Facebook or tweet about us on Twitter. Say something. Encourage your friends to subscribe. Just make sure you tag us so we see your entry. Entries due October 17, 2014.

Connect with Adventures in SciFi Publishing

Subscribe to podcast on: iTunes | Stitcher Radio (Android users) | Podcast RSS | Website RSS

Speak Your Mind

*